On Happiness

I don’t remember the exact time or day I asked myself this question: what is happiness? Is it an emotion? A state of mind? A choice? I have also asked myself: why are we so plagued by the desire to be happy? I know for sure that happiness is not tangible.

A lot of us confuses success with happiness. We also confuse happiness with material wealth or the gratification of it: “I’ll be happy with a bigger house, brand new car, or a nice 55-inch HDTV. And I’ll be happier if I get all these things now!” I’m guilty of this, why lie. I do desire some of these things, but why? Is it because they make me feel better? Is it because they make my life more comfortable? These are the type of questions we should be asking ourselves.

Leave a Reply

